X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Required Response for Gateway

I am a newbie at spring integration. I had thought that if i define my method as void, then it knows not to wait for a response.
    So i defined my gateway as follows:
    public interface JmsGateway
    {

public void sendASynchronously(@Headers Map<String,Object> headers, @Payload String message);
    }

Yet, i get the following error: MessageTimeoutException: failed to receive JMS response within timeout of: 5000ms

My xml is as follows:
    <si:channel id="targetProvisionChannel" />
    <jms:outbound-gateway id="targetProvisionGateway" request-channel="targetProvisionChannel" connection-factory="amqConnectionFactory"
    request-destination="target_provision" />
    <si:gateway id="gateway" service-interface="jms.JmsGateway"
    default-request-channel="targetProvisionChannel" />

Is there something obvious I am missing here?

It still runs on your thread by default; see this thread, that shows a number of mechanisms to get the behavior you want...

http://forum.springsource.org/showth...ethod-gateways

Comment

Thanks, i couldnt find information that clarfied for me how to use the Executor Channel but after i posted i found something that seems to work for me so i figured i would post it here. The <jms:outbound-channel-adapter...> allows for fire and forget while the jms:outbound-gateway does not. So, i configured both, where each uses a different request channel and when i want the async one, i send to the outbound-channel-adapter and when i want the synchronous i send to the gateway. And they can even work on the same JMS queue!

So the xml looks like this:

<si:channel id="ProvisionChannelSync"/>
      <si:channel id="ProvisionChannelAsync"/>

<jms:outbound-gateway id="ProvisionGateway" request-channel="ProvisionChannelSync"
      connection-factory="amqConnectionFactory"
      request-destination="provision"/>