Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Error handling

Hello,

I am new to Spring Integration and trying to play with the error handling piece of the framework. For a background I have a big flow consisting splitters, aggregators, transformers, routers etc.. and all happy paths are working fine and now I want to add the error handling capabilities like explained in one of the recent seminar. I added an error channel followed by transformer to my starting gateway. So when any runtime exception happens in my flow I get a Messaging Exception back with a cause set to an actual exception in my transformer. But the strange thing is if I remove that error channel and by that the error flow, my actual run time exception gets propagated to the caller and not the MessagingException. And what I read was Framework always wraps all the exceptions to a MessagingException.
    Please correct me if I am wrong and provide some insight in error handling. And what should be a best practice to handle runtime exceptions with Spring Integration?

It depends on the signature of your gateway method.

If you declare a method that, say, throws FooException; the gateway will try to unwrap it for you. If not, you'll get the MessagingException.

Comment

Thank you so much for the quick response.

So following is a code for my gateway which is called from one java class:
      Code:
      public interface IntegrationGateway {
          Object  execute(Message m);	
      }
      and code for java class:
      Code:
      try {
      	// invoke the gateway
      	response = gateway.execute(message);
           } catch (MessagingException exception) {
      	logger.debug("Messaging Exception..",exception);
           }catch(NullPointerException ne){
      	logger.debug("Yeah I received Null..",ne);
           }catch (Exception e){
      	logger.debug("Exception is...:"+e);
           }
      So I am expecting following exceptions:
      1) SOAP Fault