Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exception propagation to the client from Spring integration

Hi,
    I am new to Spring integration. I have developed a sample service using spring integration using gateway and service activator. I have use xml payloads, for this I have JIBX marshaller/unmarshaller. It is working fine as expected.
    I have below few questions regarding exception handling:
    1. If there is any exception in the Service activator method, will I be propagate the exception to the client code which consume this service? I have tried with global error handling as below:
    <http:inbound-gateway request-channel="inChannel"
    reply-channel="outChannel"
    name="/inGateway" error-channel="exceptionChannel"
    supported-methods="POST"/>
    <int:transformer input-channel="exceptionChannel"
    ref="exceptionTransformer" method="createErrorResponse" output-channel="stringChannel"/>
    <bean id="exceptionTransformer" class="com.test.exception.ExceptionTransformer" />
    <int:channel id="exceptionChannel" />
    <int:object-to-string-transformer input-channel="stringChannel" output-channel="outChannel"/>
    But here also, I need to return a Message<?>?

2. If propagating the exception to the client is not possible, then how will client handle the exception?

Basically, I need the same functionality like SOAPFAULT exception in spring integration.
    It would be great, if you can provide the clarification for the above questions.
    Last edited by Mission; Mar 20th, 2012, 02:02 AM.

Hello

Actually you're not right.
    In the first: if you don't declare error-channel on the <http:inbound-gateway> and do not setup convert-exceptions="true", then your Exception will be thrown back to the FrameworkServlet, where you can use some configuration of the instance of org.springframework.web.servlet.HandlerExceptionRe solver