Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice needed on binding a new queue to a fanout-exchange

Hello

I am new to RabbitMQ and would be keen to get some advice on my first use-case.

My application is an online game and an early requirement is when a new game server instance is booted it will bind a queue to a fanout-exchange. This fanout-exchange is used by game clients to send a message to all active game servers.

So far I have this configuration:

Code:
    <rabbit:connection-factory id="rabbitConnectionFactory"
    		host="{broker.hub.host}" username="{broker.hub.username}" password="{broker.hub.password}" />

<rabbit:admin id="amqpAdmin" connection-factory="rabbitConnectionFactory" />

<rabbit:queue id="clientBroadcastQueue" auto-delete="true" exclusive="true" durable="true"/>

<fanout-exchange id="gameHouseFanoutExchange" name="{broker.hub.exchange}"
    		durable="false" xmlns="http://www.springframework.org/schema/rabbit">
    		<bindings>
    			<binding queue="clientBroadcastQueue"/>
    		</bindings>
    	</fanout-exchange>

<channel id="joinHub" />

<rabbit:template id="amqpTemplate" connection-factory="rabbitConnectionFactory"
    		exchange="{broker.hub.exchange}" />
    I have used an anonymous queue because I want a unique queue name (guess I could generate something uniquely myself?) and I also want properties of auto-delete="true" exclusive="true" durable="true". At the moment this gives me an error: Configuration problem: Anonymous queue cannot specify durable='true', exclusive='false' or auto-delete='false'.

I guess I'm not going about this the right way. Any pointers would be great.

Thanks

Jon

I have not used AMQP in a while but here is what comes to mind.