Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Wrap file inbound and outbound channel adapters in custom adpater Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wrap file inbound and outbound channel adapters in custom adpater

Hi all,

I am relatively new to spring integration so bear with me.

I am finding myself writing lots of boilerplate configuration which, at a high level:

- reads files from a directory (file-inbound-channel-adapter)
    - moves file to an archive directory (file-outbound-gateway)
    - pushes file to a queue for processing (file-outbound-gateway)
    - reads each line in the file, builds objects for each line in the file and filters out any lines that do not meet a certain criteria (transformer)
    - pushes resulting objects to a channel (transformer)

I always have to declare an inbound-channel-adapter, an outbound-gateway and a transformer.

Is there anyway I can wrap this task up in a custom adapter, such that I could declare something like this in my configuration:

Code:
    <custom:my-custom-adapter
        in-directory="C:/data"
        out-directory="C:/data/archive"
        transformer-ref="myTransformer" 
        output-channel="out"/>

<beans:bean id="myTransformer" class="com.custom.transformer.MyTransformer" />
    Basically meaning I don't have to declare the same inbound-channel-adapter and outbound-gateways for each directory I want to process files from (the transformer will differ based on file type).

Is this a reasonable idea? Or is it against the usual patterns..?

Thanks.