Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Structure of domain classes

Hi.

I am new to Spring, in particular Spring Data Neo4j, and despite some problems getting everything running I am very excited about what I see.

I have a question on code structure, that stems from me having absolutely no idea what is going on under the hood (and also from lack of experience). From all the examples I have seen, the domain have consisted of simple classes without any hierachy (apart from java.lang.Object, of course).

From what I have learned about software architecture, you should implement some interface in order to decouple your implementation. Also, I feel an urge to factor out whatever I can, and therefore thought I would make a class such as

Code:
    abstract class GraphEntity {
      @GraphId
      private Long nodeId;

@Override
      public boolean equals(Object o) {
        return o == this ||
          o != null
          && getClass() == o.getClass()
          && nodeId.equals(((GraphEntity) o).nodeId);
        }

@Override
      public int hashCode() {
        return nodeId != null ? nodeId.hashCode() : super.hashCode();
      }
    }
    This way I implement these two important methods once and for all, and at the same time encapsulate the node id.

All domain classes backed by a node or relationship would then inherit from this, and at the same time implement the respective domain interface, e.g.

Code:
    @NodeEntity
    public class MovieNode extends GraphEntity implements Movie {
    }
    I would put the interfaces in one package ([app].domain), and GraphEntity and the implementations in another one ([app].domain.impl)

What do you think? Pros/cons/better ways? Problems with the mapping system? Any thoughts are appreciated.

Regards, Michael.

This is sort of how I expected to structure my classes but after looking at the cineasts example it looks like they implemented it slightly different. Also interested in input.