X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• additional attributes queried when using spring ldaptemplate

Disclosure: I'm new at spring-ldap and I didn't write this code but now have to debug. Even so, I sure would appreciate the help...

We've started using spring-ldap-1.3.3 with WebLogic 9.2. Specifying a list of attributes to query (example: {"cn", "uid", givenName"}), and using a template.search(....) gives the correct results... no problem there.

-- The ISSUE:
    LDAP logs show that the query is asking for additional attributes and the LDAP admin does not like this:

... SRCH base="..." scope=1 filter="..." attrs="cn uid givenName javaSerializedData javaClassName javaFactory javaCodebase javaReferenceAddress javaClassNames javaremotelocation"

The ldap admin is complaining that we are querying non-indexed values and thus slowing things down. I can't find really anything *wrong* with querying these attributes, they don't give exceptions, but why does the spring-ldap do this? and more importantly how can I get rid of those? Is is some combo of using spring with WL JNDI?

If I do an ldap query using direct WebLogic JNDI w/o spring templates I get the the same log entry MINUS the javaXXXX attributes. So it seems to be strictly a spring thing.

Pointers to doc, even an RTFM (as long as you please tell me which manual and which chapter/section)... all helpful. I've search this forum and googled but can't find anything related.

Many thanks.

After more testing, webLogic is irrelevant... please ignore that.

I ran the sample PersonDaoImpl & TraditionalPersonDaoImpl from the 1.3.3 release and got equal results (yeah for that!)

The traditional method produces this entry in the ldap access log:
    SRCH ... attrs="cn givenName mail description"

but the spring-ldap version creates this entry: