Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Either timing out because too many results - or nothing - now I'm confused! Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Either timing out because too many results - or nothing - now I'm confused!

Hi, wondering whether someone may be able to help me. I'm really stuck with this ldap library. This is my first time with ldap, and I feel as though I'm just starting to gasp air, after sinking quite rapidly at the beginning. I've now figured out the search syntax, and the attributes supported by ldap. However - I can't get it to work with Spring LDAP.

I'm instantiating my Spring LDAP classes manually, but I don't think that's what's causing the problem. Here's my code ;-

DirContextSource context = new DirContextSource ();
    String url = ApplicationResources.getInstance().getProperties() .getProperty("ldap.url");
    context.setUrl(url);
    context.setAnonymousReadOnly(true);

context.afterPropertiesSet();

LdapTemplate template = new LdapTemplate(context);
    context.setBase("dc=foo,dc=bar,dc=com");

List people = template.search("dc=foo,dc=bar,dc=com","(&(objectc lass=person)(userPrincipalName=" + userId + "*))", new UserContextMapper()); // UserContextMapper as per Sping LDAP example

If I don't enter a userId, then the search times out, which makes me think that it is actually trying to search, but there are too many users. Then if I specify a userId, nothing is ever returned. I know the Base, and search filter are correct, since I've been using them in a third party tool, without any problems. Can someone please help me shed some light on what's going wrong here. Thanks in advance