Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Setting a default foreign key with hibernate annotations

Hi everyone,
    I am new to the world of spring and hibernate. I found this forum very interessting, and now I am writing my first post on it

Also, to my problem. I have a little difficulty setting a default value for a foreign key with hibernate.
    I have one table with a column called "severityID" that points to the "id" of a second table "severity". This column is not nullable and has a default value. on the database this can be performed as follows:
    PHP Code:
    cw_severityId INT NOT NULL default 1
    In order to do the same on hibernate I used the annotation "OneToOne", and the property is set to the class that represent the "severity" table.
    PHP Code:
        @OneToOne

@JoinColumn(name="severityId")
        private 
    Severity severity
    Did someone know how to set a default value to this property? in this example it should point to the first element of the "severity" table.
    If the value is a primitive type that would be easily done with
    PHP Code:
    @Column(name="severityId",nullable=false,columnDefinition="int default 1"
    or
    PHP Code:
    @Column(name="cw_severityId")
        private 
    int severity=1
    Hope that someone can help, this time google couldnīt...
    Last edited by Sakr; Oct 8th, 2009, 02:39 AM.

Hi Buddy,

I am not sure about other issues in the code you are developing, and this not a problem with Spring.
    This is the technique in Hibernate, You can set default values by setting class property as dynamic-update="true" and dynamic-insert="true".

Try this out. I think this should work.

Regards,
    Prabodh

Comment

Hi Prabodh,

Thank you for the reply, that was the right way. The problem is solved now.