X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• hibernate 3: Christian Bauer's notes

Hi, im very new to the spring framework, im trying to understand the hole thing.
    Im very interested on the "first class" support for hibernate, reading around i found very good tutorials on the topic, but suddently i found this,

http://hibernate.bluemars.net/110.html

do you have any comments on the bold notes from Christian Bauer?
    Should i be worried about the spring-hibernate future support and integration ?
    thanks

Code:
    Should i be worried about the spring-hibernate future support and integration ?
    I don't think so. The Spring team are top developers. I guess it's a small concern that the tone of the notes are unsupportive of Spring, but that doesn't really stop Spring from integrating.

Comment

The hibernate guys have a container philosophy to sell (JBOSS), and in general seem to think the world revolves around them. So don't be suprised that they say a container and specifically JBOSS and Hibernate is the only answer for everything for all time...

Comment

I guess there's also a concern that Spring makes it easy to switch from Hibernate to Toplink, JDO, iBatis, JDBC, OJB. Not something Hibernate would want to promote.

I think you'd find migration from Hibernate2 to Hibernate3 simpler if you were using Spring than just Hibernate2 - that says something about good design to me.

I'll try to add some specific replies here:
        Originally posted by Juergen Hoeller
        Spring's generic transaction management for DAOs is of particular interest
        Originally posted by Christian Bauer
        Note: It's also a proprietary alternative.
        But...it's fully portable - from application to container A to container Z.
        And don't forget that you can mix JDBC and Hibernate in the same transaction (being careful of you cache of course)