Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using 'like' in namedquery

Hi,

I'm very new to Spring and I'm trying to execute a query where one of the 3 parameters could be filled in or empty. So a user can enter a name, firstname and customerstreet. When one of the field is empty it shoud return more results.
    The query in DB2 looks like:

Code:
    select * from soctar_from_supplier_new where name like 'ENGELS' and firstname like '%' and custstreet like '%'
    Searching for somebody with the name should result in 33 records.

The name query is:
    Code:
    <query name="supplierPerson.findSupplierFromParameters"><![CDATA[from SupplierPerson where name like ? and firstName like ? and custStreet like ?]]></query>
    The DAO Hibernate implementation is:

Code:
    public List findSupplierFromParameters(String name, String firstName, String custStreet) throws DAOException {
    		try{

Object values[] = new Object[3];
    			values[0] = name;
    			values[1] = firstName;
    			values[2] = custStreet;

return getHibernateTemplate().findByNamedQuery("supplierPerson.findSupplierFromParameters", values);
    	}
    Executing this query should give 33 result, but I'm getting 0

Code:
    assertEquals(33, (supplierpersonDao.findSupplierFromParameters("ENGELS", "","")).size());
    I guess I have to replace empty strings with '%' I just don't get where or how...

It's better you to use Criteria API of Hibernate to fetch the data you need.

Comment

Code:
      public List findSupplierFromParameters(String name, String firstName, String custStreet) throws DAOException {
      		try{

Object values[] = new Object[3];
                              if(name == null || name.equals("")){
      			   values[0] = "%";
                              else{
                                 values[0] = name;
                              }
      			return getHibernateTemplate().findByNamedQuery("supplierPerson.findSupplierFromParameters", values);