X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thread Safety

Hi all, I've recently read http://www.javalobby.org/articles/thread-safe/index.jsp and http://static.springframework.org/sp...rence/orm.html whilst investigating thread safety issues to be expected in a Tomcat / Spring MVC / Hibernate application I am writing for university.

From reading the article and the referenced Spring docs, it seems HibernateTemplate is thread safe. Great But, does this mean Thread safety is now handled for my situation (I'm guessing not!) or are readers / writers problems still to be expected? If so, please could someone provide hints as to where I should expect them to occur?

Best regards,

Craig

ps. Sorry if this seems like a request for a 101 on concurrency and thread safety I'm still pretty new to the intricacies of Servlets / Spring / Hibernate :s

Hmmm... more specifically:

If I had an AtmServlet similar to that shown in example 5.5 of http://www.unix.org.ua/orelly/java-e...t/ch05_05.htm; but retrieved the Account act variable from a DAO using HibernateTemplate....

1) Would the act variable contain the same object reference across multiple threads?
    2) If (1)==true, I'm guessing I'd still need to synchronize access in the following lines?:

Code:
        synchronized(act) {
          if(req.getParameter("WITHDRAW") != null) && (amt < act.balance)
            act.balance = act.balance - amt;
          if(req.getParameter("DEPOSIT") != null) && (amt > 0)
            act.balance = act.balance + amt;
        } // end synchronized block
    3) If (1)==false, how would conflicting concurrent changes be resolved when writing threads commit transactions?

Thanks.
    Craig

Comment

If "act" is a local variable it's threadsafe. If it's an instance variable, it's not.

Comment