Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Simple Hibernate Transaction Rollback test

hi,

I'm kinda new with spring and I wanted to try out the hibernate transactionmanager. The scenario is simple enough: I start a transaction (programmatically), add a Project to the DB and in the same transaction I add a User. The latter will throw (as intended) an exception because one of it's mandatory fields is null. In the catch-block I do a rollback and I would expect the insert of the project to have been rolled back. However this is not the case; the project is added to the DB and is not removed.

Source AbstractService;
    Code:
    public class AbstractService
    {
    	protected PlatformTransactionManager transactionManager = null;

public void setTransactionManager(PlatformTransactionManager transactionManager)
    	{
    		this.transactionManager = transactionManager;
    	}

protected TransactionStatus startNewTransaction()
    	{
    		TransactionStatus status = null;
    		DefaultTransactionDefinition definition = new DefaultTransactionDefinition(TransactionDefinition.PROPAGATION_REQUIRES_NEW);
    		if (transactionManager != null)
    		{
    			status = transactionManager.getTransaction(definition);
    		}
    		return status;
    	}
    }
    ProjectServiceImpl extends AbstractService:
    Source createProject (= the test method)
    Code:
    	public void createProject(Project project, User creator)
    	{
    		TransactionStatus status = startNewTransaction();

try
    		{
    			project.setVersion(new Integer(1));

projectDAO.save(project); //does a simple hibernatetemplate.save

User u = new User();

projectDAO.save(u);

transactionManager.commit(status);

}
    		catch (Exception e)
    		{
    			transactionManager.rollback(status);
    		}

}
    declaration of transactionmanager:
    Code:
    	<bean id="transactionManager"
    		class="org.springframework.orm.hibernate3.HibernateTransactionManager">