X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• integration testing and exceptions/rollbacks

I'm fairly new to Spring, and I'm trying to get integration testing working using AbstractTransactionalSpringContextTests, and I'm having problems figuring out how to test rollbacks.

Here is my understanding of how to use Spring's integration testing support:

- I can populate my database with data for the test in onSetUpInTransaction, and it will be rolled back after the test.
    - Spring keeps my @Transactional methods from actually committing data to the database
    - After my @Transactional methods are called (after I run the method to test), I can then test the data in the database within the same transaction
    - When the test is done, Spring rolls the transaction back, leaving the database as it was before the test case started.

My problem is that when the method I'm testing throws an exception, Spring just marks the transaction for rollback, but doesn't actually do anything until after the test finishes, so when I test the data, it hasn't been rolled back yet, and the test fails.

Here's what the logs say:

Code:
    2007-06-22 16:04:28,558 [main] DEBUG org.springframework.transaction.support.TransactionSynchronizationManager  - Retrieved value [org.springframework.orm.hibernate3.SessionHolder@6755b6] for key [org.hibernate.impl.SessionFactoryImpl@10b5064] bound to thread [main]
    2007-06-22 16:04:45,936 [main] DEBUG org.springframework.transaction.interceptor.TransactionInterceptor  - Completing transaction for [com.blah.CommunityManager.resendInvitations] after exception: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: CommunityManager.resendInvitations() - invalid invitation