X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Avoidng Hardcode values for DB Connection

I am new to Springs and right now doing my first project. I have no formal training in springs and just doing fire fighting.

I am having a minor issue. Right now I have hard coded all connection properties in my applicationcontext.xml but I want to avoid this situation. Is there any other way, I can read from text file or java.util.Properties and populate in applicationContext at server startup. We would be deploying our application as desktop application and we donot want people to go and change values in xml file.

Current Code from ApplicationContext.xml:

<bean id="dataSource2"
    class="org.apache.commons.dbcp.BasicDataSource"
    destroy-method="close">

<property name="driverClassName" value="com.microsoft.sqlserver.jdbc.SQLServerDrive r"/>

<property name="url" value="jdbc:sqlserver://MYIP:MYPORT;database=CPIW"/>

<property name="username" value="aaa"/>

<property name="password" value="bbb"/>

</bean>

See the PropertyPlaceHolderConfigurer in the Spring Documentation.

Comment

I tried following but I am getting io exception that file could not be opened because it is not found. I copied the properties file in my src folder in designated package.

Code:
      <bean class="org.springframework.beans.factory.config.PropertyPlaceholderConfigurer">
      <property name="locations"> 
      <value>classpath:com/mycompany/abc/def/jdbc.properties</value>
      </property>
      </bean>

<bean id="dataSource" class="org.apache.commons.dbcp.BasicDataSource" destroy-method="close">	
      		<property name="driverClassName" value="${driverClassName}"/>
      		<property name="url" value="${driverClassName}"/>
      		<property name="username" value="${driverClassName}"/>
      		<property name="password" value="${driverClassName}"/>
      </bean>

I also tried following and hard coded the location and got the same problem

Code: