X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hibernate + Spring, large amount of data

I am new to Spring. I succesfully run the Petstore example. I found out, that table data can be paginated on jsp page like this

PagedListHolder myList = new PagedListHolder(this.petStore.getProductListByCate gory(accountForm.getAccount).getFavouriteCategoryI d()));
    myList.setPageSize(numberOfRows);

This question occured to me at once - PagedListHolder takes full list of data. But what if the list is very large? Should I always read all the data, or is there some other way to fetch only needed rows? We expect to use hibernate. Thanks.

Your obviously right if you load all the rows then you could experience performance problems. There are lots of articles out there about Hibernate pagination, I have a google and see what is there. I'm pretty sure this has been covered on this forum as well, would be worth searching here.

e.g.
    http://blog.hibernate.org/cgi-bin/bl.../08/14#fn.html

Comment

Originally posted by J_N View Post
      This question occured to me at once - PagedListHolder takes full list of data. But what if the list is very large? Should I always read all the data, or is there some other way to fetch only needed rows? We expect to use hibernate. Thanks.
      In this scenario I would write a hibernate query that would only bring back display values, rather than a collection that holds the a full expanded object and all its associations. Have a read about the HQL select new construct in Hibernate. This is negating the "DREDGE" anti-pattern, which involves dredging up a huge net full of data on the off chance you might need one item within it.