Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Auto write audit log information to database

Hi,

I am a newbie on the Springframework and Spring DAO, but I still can't prevent myself from asking a question even before I jump up:

We're on a project with the aspect of intensive data operations, and need logging the data editing history in database, for management purpose. Say, we need trace back on what time, who, made what modification. I believe it is a general enterprise application requirement.

I still remeber that several years ago I was involved in another C++ project, which we manually wrote the SQL code to insert the log information on every database updating... That's pain and you bet by no mean I want to go the same way. So could somebody give me idea, with Springframework and DAO armed, how to implement it nicely, such as in Hibernate or JDO?

Thanks a lot in advance.

You can use a nice feature of Hibernate called Interceptor (entityInterceptor in the case of spring as to distinguish it from AOP interceptor). You can add an entityInterceptor with setEntityInterceptor on the HibernateTemplate and HibernateInterceptor (whatever the way you choose to add Hibernate support in your code).
    So you create a bean implementing Interceptor and on the onSave method you can add code which will be called for each object. In the signature you'll see that you can access its id etc ...
    However, I woudln't recommend to directly save an audit entry in the onSave method but rather to save the object in a list and save the whole audit trail in the postFlush method, in which all objects that you'll have saved sooner will have their id set (in the case of new objects with id set by the underlying database).

HTH

Olivier

Comment

Don't forget you can probably achieve the same result by using an AOP Alliance MethodInterceptor against your Dao.create and Dao.update methods.