X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best practices for DAO

I'm new with Spring, so sorry if this is a stupid question or has been covered before or if this is the wrong forum. I'm trying to learn Spring & Hibernate and am using the petclinic as an example.

If I wanted to delete an object based on an id, which of the following would be correct:

#1 - The dao delete method accepts an id, calls the dao load method to get the object reference and then deletes.

#2 - The dao delete method accepts an object reference and the load and the delete are called separately from another layer.

Thanks very much for any feedback.

Best practices for DAO

I suggest a variation of the second approach.
    I would seperate DAO and Domain Layer.
    And pass the Domain Object loaded otherwhere to delete to the DAO Layer.

Christoph

Comment

DAO best practices question

Thanks very much for the reply. I have a follow up question.

Let's say I did decide for some reason to call a DAO method from within another DAO method. Is this a poor practice? If both methods were configured for transaction propagation, will I end up just one overall transaction, or will this situation result in some sort of ugly transactional mess? I guess overall I'm wondering if it's OK to call getHibernateTemplate() multiple times within the same DAO method or if I should try to write my DAO methods to do just one specific thing.

Sorry again if these are dumb questions and thanks for any feedback!

Comment

Best practices for DAO

Myself i'm quite new to Spring and have'nt used Hibernate at all, so i don't how valuable my suggestions really are for you ;-)
        I don't see any reason, why you should'nt be able use another DAO within a DAO , given specific requirements. Apart from that , i would suggest to have Classes of the Domain Layer as Targets for the Transactional Proxies and not the DAO's.
        Christoph

Comment