X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The value for the useBean class attribute ... is invalid

Howdy! I'm a Spring newbie, been reading the official reference documentations as well as learning from the web tutorials for half year but I haven't come to a success point. Now that a project from work is in the need to implement Spring under the following circumstances:
    • projects will be deployed in Apache Tomcat (version 7 to be specific), no future plan to migrate to application servers such as GlassFish;
    • views will be DOM-based (utilizing org.w3c.dom.*) in plain JSP which produce either XML or transformed XSLT (HTML), hence we don't quite need to incorporate full Spring Web MVC;
    • what we need from Spring Framework is the Spring Data JPA support due to all of the above: No application server (just servelt container) but still in the need for JPA.
    Questions arised:
    1. Can we eliminate writing @Controller class(es) totally!? Actually, we've tried to achieve this after doing a few researches; we're just not sure if we're on the rite path (see below for current configuration).
    2. Are we using/configuring everything correctly!? Have we over-configured things we actually don't need and/or have we miss-configured things, please advise!
    3. The result is either:
      Code:
      org.apache.jasper.JasperException: /index.jsp (line: 1, column: 95) The value for the useBean class attribute tw.com.nani.tsj.entity.EmployeeDAO is invalid.
      	org.apache.jasper.compiler.DefaultErrorHandler.jspError(DefaultErrorHandler.java:42)
      	org.apache.jasper.compiler.ErrorDispatcher.dispatch(ErrorDispatcher.java:443)
      	org.apache.jasper.compiler.ErrorDispatcher.jspError(ErrorDispatcher.java:149)
      	org.apache.jasper.compiler.Generator$GenerateVisitor.visit(Generator.java:1237)
      	org.apache.jasper.compiler.Node$UseBean.accept(Node.java:1182)