X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Testing and Transactional

I'm new to Spring and having a difficult time figuring out @Transactional. My basic setup:

JPA, Java Configuration, CTW, AnnotationTransactionAspect.aspectOf(), spring-configured, Hibernate, component scan on everything for now.

Test runs with SpringJUnit4ClassRunner. Each Test class is annotated with:

Code:
    @DirtiesContext(classMode = DirtiesContext.ClassMode.AFTER_EACH_TEST_METHOD )
    I have a parent entity and a child entity. There is a ONETOMANY relationship between them. Though I don't think this is relevant.

My test methods are NOT annotated with @Transactional. I want to make sure that my service layer is using flush, et al correctly so I need committed transactions between operations within the test method.

My @Transactional usage is in my service layer. Furthermore, the service layer is injected into a fluent interface that the test uses. This allows me to do things like this:

Code:
         ParentOperations.id( parent.getId() ).getChildrenNames();
    Here's a brief version of ParentOperations:

Code:
        @Configurable
        public class ParentOperations {
           @AutoWired
           private ParentService service;
           private Parent parent;

public static ParentOperations id( Long id ) {
              ParentOperations ops = new ParentOperations();
              ops.parent = ops.service.findById( id );
              return ops;
           }

public Set<Child> getChildren() {
              return service.getChildrenOf( this.parent );
           }
        }
    There's a bunch more to it but you get the idea. All the methods in ParentService are @Transactional. The #getChildrenOf method simply populates a HashSet using the result of parent.getChildren() which is using a LAZY fetch but should be fine since it is done within a transaction.