Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Closing hibernate sessions - Spring 1.2.7 vs 2.5.6

Hi,

I have started maintaining a project which was not initially developed by me. It uses Spring 1.2.7 and I was trying to upgrade the Spring version to 2.5.6.

Just so you know. I am a beginner in Spring and Hibernate.

The problem is that when I use Spring 2.5.6 instead of 1.2.7 (everything else remaining the same), I see that jdbc connections are not released when the session is opened the following way and not closed:

The class extends HibernateDaoSupport
    Code:
    	public List<BookCategory> getAllBookCategories() {
    		Session session = getSessionFactory().openSession();
    		return session.createQuery("from BookCategory bc order by bc.name").list();
    	}
    From what I have read, the session should ideally be closed in the code after it is used or maybe the current session should be used, or the hibernate template. Also, even if I close the session in this method, this is probably not the ideal way of doing this as it looks like the session-per-operation antipattern.

But this is how it is now and the session does get automatically closed (jdbc connection gets released) after this method call if I use the spring 1.2.7 jar in the project. The moment I replace it with the spring 2.5.6 jar, the session does not get closed after this method call, and after a few such calls, the connection pool gets exhausted and the application hangs. When the database access is through hibernateTemplate, the connections are released normally.

Here is the sessionFactory configuration:

Code:
    	<bean id="sessionFactory"
    		class="org.springframework.orm.hibernate3.LocalSessionFactoryBean">
    		<property name="dataSource" ref="dataSource" />
    		<property name="hibernateProperties">
    			<props>
    				<prop key="hibernate.dialect">
    					org.hibernate.dialect.MySQLInnoDBDialect
    				</prop>