Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to do standalone session inside an existing transaction?

Hi,

I'm new to Spring/Hibernate, yet managed to use it very fast, however I encountered the following problem.

I'm writing a plugin inside an application that already use Hibernate+Spring. My plugin seems to be executing inside a spring/hibernate transaction, but my plugin is not interested in being part of that transaction. My plugin even access a different DB.

My plugin code loads classes with data from the DB, then format the loaded objects in memory some more and then display them. Nothing more than that. The formatting must not go back to the DB.

However, I see that after my code is done, the changes I do in memory are written back to the DB. Seems this is due to the external transaction that was alreay open.

I use the simplest usage of HibernateTemplate for DAO, LocalSessionFactoryBean & the DAO beans declared in the Context.xml.

I couldn't find how to get my code to run independently of the global transaction which is not under my control, or how to prevent my changes from going back to the DB any other way (other than not doing the memory manipulation inside the hibernated classes). When I debugged the code it seemed to me I can't control that.

Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance.
    Yaniv

You should be using a different SessionFactory and DataSource for the plugin, and will not have interference with the main app...

Comment

This is how I did it.

Still, when debugging I see that it checks for a transaction per thread, and then later it seem to save the modified objects back to the DB outside my code.

Comment

Your Hibernate Session will by default indeed automatically register with the global transaction, no matter which SessionFactory created it.