X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Data source synchronization?

TLDR: I need to keep two data sources with the same schema loosely in sync (say, every several hours) without having a guaranteed internet connection at any given time. One is the master and the other contains a small amount of the master's data. The two data sources are backed by different RDBMS types. Is there a canonical way to do this in Spring that I'm just not aware of, or does this sort of thing have a common name I can Google that I just don't know?

Details:
    I have a single remote ("master") RMDBS data source serving as a data warehouse for several distributed databases that should always contain a strict subset of the master data source's data. The two data sources have an equivalent schema (i.e. tables and columns have the same names). Data may be uploaded to either the remote or local machines, and local machines should be responsible for pulling down data that is relevant to them from time to time (every few hours is fine). This is not a situation where the master needs to "push" updates down to local machines. However, there is a potential for intermittent connection issues for the local machines, so I can't assume that they can talk to the remote whenever they need to. Additionally, the remote machine is running Oracle but the local ones are using an embedded database since they only need a small subset of the warehouse's data. The local machines can be responsible for pulling the data they need; I'm just now sure how to keep them in sync given that updates can occur to either at any time.