Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• JDBCDAOSupport can't find dataSource

Hi,

I am new to Spring and am trying to setup JDBCDAOSupport in my mvc project to connect to a mysql backend. I am receiving the following error message:

Code:
    java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: org.springframework.jdbc.datasource.DriverManagerDataSource
    I have configured my /webapp/WEB-INF/spring/appServlet/servlet-context.xml with the following:

Code:
    <beans:bean id="dataSource" class="org.springframework.jdbc.datasource.DriverManagerDataSource">
    		<beans:property name="driverClassName" value="${jdbc.driverClassName}" />
    		<beans:property name="url" value="${jdbc.url}" />
    		<beans:property name="username" value="${jdbc.username}" />
    		<beans:property name="password" value="${jdbc.password}" />
    	</beans:bean>

<context:property-placeholder location="classpath:jdbc.properties"/>
    Should I even be modifying the servlet-context.xml or should I create my own xml file? When I created the mvc project in STS I just went ahead and modified this one. If I do need to create a new one should I just put it under appServlet?

Anyways onto the main problem. Another part of maven and spring is how should I go about adding the jdbc jar. When I go to my spring install folder under

C:\Program Files\springsource\sts-2.9.1.RELEASE\plugins

I see the org.springframework.jdbc_3.1.1.RELEASE jar, when I try and add this to the classpath I still receive the error. Should I add the dependency through maven? I would like to understand this aspect of spring and maven as I am new to it, but I am slightly confused on whether I should add it as a dependency or a jar in my build path.

Hello Luca

Have you read the Spring Core Reference documentation?

java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: org.springframework.jdbc.datasource.DriverManagerD ataSource
    If you have the project based on Maven, be sure you have the Spring JDBC dependency declared