Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which the better way to keep SessionFactory in Hibernate?

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie in both Spring and Hibernate. When i was looking for a way to handle SessionFactory, i saw this link: http://static.springsource.org/sprin...rence/orm.html. It saids:

12.2.2. SessionFactory setup in a Spring container

To avoid tying application objects to hard-coded resource lookups, Spring allows you to define resources such as a JDBC DataSource or a Hibernate SessionFactory as beans in the Spring container. Application objects that need to access resources just receive references to such pre-defined instances via bean references (the DAO definition in the next section illustrates this).
    Anyone can show me why are hard-coded resource lookups not good?
    And more, in some popular Hibernate tutorials, it seems many one used a class like HibernateUtils to create and keep SessionFactory in static variables? Meanwhile, the docs saids:

12.2.5. Implementing DAOs based on plain Hibernate 3 API

Hibernate 3 provides a feature called "contextual Sessions", where Hibernate itself manages one current Session per transaction. This is roughly equivalent to Spring's synchronization of one Hibernate Session per transaction. A corresponding DAO implementation looks like as follows, based on the plain Hibernate API:

public class ProductDaoImpl implements ProductDao {

private SessionFactory sessionFactory;

public void setSessionFactory(SessionFactory sessionFactory) {
    this.sessionFactory = sessionFactory;
    }

public Collection loadProductsByCategory(String category) {
    return this.sessionFactory.getCurrentSession()
    .createQuery("from test.Product product where product.category=?")
    .setParameter(0, category)
    .list();
    }
    }