X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie setup of jdbc for db derby

I'm new to spring and attempting to setup a jdbc connection on a roo project. I'm using Derby 10.8.1 and have successfully connected via the eclipse ide (ping). However, I receive jdbc connection errors when I attempt to connect my project.

I have two questions.

How do I determine the proper database url (seen in the database.properties file) for my project connection?

Where do I find the system information for the Derby Network database that I'm running?

Thanks in advance.

Hello

However, I receive jdbc connection errors when I attempt to connect my project.
    Post the complete error stack trace and use code tags for that.

How do I determine the proper database url (seen in the database.properties file) for my project connection?
    Check Derby's documentation, examples must exists there about how write a correct URL

Where do I find the system information for the Derby Network database that I'm running?
    Again check Derby's documentation

Comment

Originally posted by dr_pompeii View Post
      Hello

Post the complete error stack trace and use code tags for that.

Check Derby's documentation, examples must exists there about how write a correct URL

Again check Derby's documentation

My apologies for the lack of clarity. The jdbc connection properties dialog box that I use to connect in the ide gives the following url:

jdbc:derby://localhost:1527/MyDatabase;create=true

I can successfully connect to this network database using the ide. However, when I build my application, I receive a connection error related to the jdbc driver as follows:

2011-12-16 11:38:26,404 [main] ERROR org.hibernate.tool.hbm2ddl.SchemaExport - schema export unsuccessful
      org.apache.commons.dbcp.SQLNestedException: Cannot create JDBC driver of class 'org.apache.derby.jdbc.EmbeddedDriver' for connect URL 'jdbc:derby://localhost:1527/MyDatabase;create=true'