Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Spring 3 + Hibernate 3 with Multiple Datasources - Best Practice Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring 3 + Hibernate 3 with Multiple Datasources - Best Practice

Ok, folks...I'm really at a loss here. To be sure I'm an amateur at transaction management, interceptors, etc but this is bordering on ridiculous and I've not found a post that successfully addressed my issue.

I have a small application which needs to pull data from one table in one database and another identical table in another database (it's a queuing table). With 2 databases, I obviously have 2 datasources, and 2 sessionFactories. I am using Spring 3.0.5 and Hibernate 3.6, both with annotations.

I started with a single datasource and a single DAO for accessing the table in one of the databases. This was working perfectly with annotations and the default transactionManager. Now I want to take the code and make it work with the other database as well. So here are my questions and what I've experienced so far:

1) Do I need separate TransactionManagers? It would seem so and I have done this, giving each a qualifier value that is referred to in my Service -or- DAO class(es) using @Transactional("qualifier") notation. Is this proper or is there a better way?

2) What about interceptors? Do I need separate interceptors if I have two TransactionManagers? With the 'qualified' notation above, shouldn't Spring be able to locate the proper TransactionManager without me manually creating interceptors? If not, is there a good example out there of how to create separate interceptors and direct specific classes that use them?