Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transaction Management with CXF and Hibernate

Dear All,

Although I had used Spring before, I am not experienced in transaction management and I think I am having a challenging issue.

For data persistence, I am using Hibernate (with MySQL) and for presentation I am using Web Services with CXF. (over tomcat 7.0) Lazy initialization is needed in my project, so it is active. I am using Spring version 3.5.

In terms of transaction management, what I basically need is something like the following: a transaction/session is started once an HTTP request is made. The data is retrieved to instantiate the objects, as normal, and these objects are serialized to XML to do soap response, by CXF. Once the serialization is completed, the transaction/session needs to be terminated.

Although it sounds fairly, simple; I couldn't manage to do that and I think I am running out of options.

Note: I am using XML configuration instead of annotations.

At first, I tried to configure HibernateTransactionManager using "tx:advice" tags and specified the propagation methods. However, I had LazyInitializationException, and I suppose this is because JAXB is performing object serialization after I close the transaction.

Then, I heard about OpenSessionInViewFilter and configured this. In fact, I am a little bit confused about it. Its flushing mode is NEVER by default, which is obviously problematic for me, so I tried to change it to AUTO. However, when I monitor user connections through MySQL Admin interface, the connection begins before I make the request (strangely) and it is not disposed, even if the request is completed. This is bad because after some time, I receive "broken pipe" errors and as far as I understood this is because session remains opened for a long time.

Below, I will provide related piece of codes that could be helpful for those who would like to help me.

cxf.xml (a.k.a application context)