X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Very simple question

I'm sure this must have been asked before, but I just can't find the correct search term to bring up the thread.

I have a property I want to use called 'ZapProp'. I create a method on the class called setZapProp() and put <prop name="zapProp"/> in the beans.xml and everything is fine.

However, I change the name of the property to <prop name="ZapProp"/>. We can't find the property.

I get smart. I change setZapProp() to setzapProp(). Still fails.

So I change the property to <prop name="zapProp">. That works. I cycle though getZapProp and getzapProp with the bean definition constant. Works fine.

My question is: Is this consistant behaviour? If it is, then the warning message should probably say that properties cannot begin with a capital, not that it can't find the setter. Otherwise, we should be clear that properties may only begin with a small letter.

Of course, I'm not an expert here, so it may just be I'm stupid

..r

Re: Very simple question

Originally posted by rogerf
    So I change the property to <prop name="zapProp">. That works. I cycle though getZapProp and getzapProp with the bean definition constant. Works fine.

My question is: Is this consistant behaviour?
    Yes. The basic propertyname always begins with a lowercase, and the setter/getter always begins with a set/get propertyname (and this time the property starts with an uppercase).

If it is, then the warning message should probably say that properties cannot begin with a capital, not that it can't find the setter. Otherwise, we should be clear that properties may only begin with a small letter.
    It is normal javabean behaviour. So maybe you have made a mistake, but I guess this won`t happen again.

Comment

[quote="Alarmnummer"]