Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Spring.Expressions -> unhandled exception while using Lambda expression. Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring.Expressions -> unhandled exception while using Lambda expression.

Hi,

I am new to Spring.NET and I am evaluating Spring.NET for several of my projects and running into an issue with the Spring.Expressions library with regard to the Lambda Expressions discussed in section 11.3.15 of the manual. I am on the latest version 1.3.1 of Spring.NET.

I am trying the following from page #117 of the manual as is which is not working:

IDictionary vars = new Hashtable();
    Expression.RegisterFunction("sqrt", "{|n| Math.Sqrt($n)}", vars);

ExpressionEvaluator.GetValue(null, "#sqrt(9)", vars) // 3

After successful compilation when I run my application, I get the following runtime error on Math.Sqrt call:

An unhandled exception of type 'Spring.Core.NullValueInNestedPathException' occurred in Spring.Core.dll

Additional information: Cannot initialize property or field node 'Math' because the specified context is null.

My guess is that Spring.Core is not able to find the .NET System.Math library.

What am I doing wrong here and how can I fix this issue?

Thanks,
    Faisal

This is actually a very simple fix: the problem derives from the fact that the Spring Expression Language (SpEL) needs to be 'told' how to resolve the string "Math" when it is encountered in a statement.

See Section 11.3.8, Type Registration for more info.

Thus, if you change your code to include the requisite type registration code, it should work for you as in...

Code:
    TypeRegistry.RegisterType("Math", typeof(Math));

IDictionary vars = new Hashtable();
    Expression.RegisterFunction("sqrt", "{|n| Math.Sqrt($n)}", vars);

var value = ExpressionEvaluator.GetValue(null, "#sqrt(9)", vars);