Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie: moving from avalon to spring

Hi all,

I am a Spring newbie user, today being the third consecutives day I am studying it using the spring-reference Manual.

My company has a big corporate banking application developed with Cocoon and ApacheAvalon.

We are now in the process of changing ApacheAvalon and start using Spring, so I am looking for a way to convert our Avalon Components ..

I am missing something because I can't understand how I can replace the concept Avalon uses, such as the interfaces ThreadSafe, LogEnabled, Serviceable, Disposable, Configurable, Initializable. ( http://cocoon.apache.org/2.1/developing/avalon.html )

I only found some PicoContainer equivalent here:
    http://www.picocontainer.org/Differentiators

and something in the article 'Introduction to the Spring Framework', where, btw, I found only differences bwtween Spring and EJBs

any help appreciated
    thks
    Leonardo

I haven't used avalon but from what I understand it uses IoC through interfaces (type 1 if I'm not mistaken). What you have to do is translate this interfaces into Spring by using Spring specific items namely interceptors or factory beans.

For example - ThreadSafe I assume it makes your classes to be non-singleton - here you can define your beans as being non-singleton. You can create a very simple FactoryBean which will read the class interfaces and delegate the bean creation call to the main factory bean with the singleton true or false (you have to dig intot the javadocs for more details).

LogEnabled - this can be achieved using a log interceptor - if the target contains the interface, the logging interceptor will be applied.