X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IoC when dependencies are not constants

I'm new in spring world and I don't grasp some concepts. I realize the utility of the container when I need to manage beans built from constant values or other constant-based collaborators as dependencies, but what about those cases when dependencies are objects known just at execution time. I'll describe some examples what I mean:

Case 1. Bean A is a prototype bean requiring a java.util.Date to work. I need to tell BeanFactory that each time I invoke getBean("A") a fresh A instance be created with the current date as a dependency. How can I specify this?

Case 2. Bean B has a writer property as a dependency. I want to inject an standard io writer as a value (the container should do B.setWriter (new PrintWriter (System.out)); ). How can tell that to the container?

Case 3. I have 3 beans ADAO, BDAO, and CDAO having each one a diferente (prototype) Logger instance as a dependeny. The logger requires as a constructor argument the java.lang.Class object of the bean where it will live. Thus, for ADAO the container might inject ADAO.setLogger (new Logger (ADAO.class); ). How can I tell that to the container?

Thanks.
    Best Regards Javier Velez
    Spain (Madrid).

1) Using IOC doesn't mean that you NEVER use 'new'.

In your case, it is not antithetical to IoC programming to have your prototype bean construct an internal data object each time it is constructed. This date object doesn't need to be injected by spring.

However, if the data object needs to be shared amongst other beans or is a runtime property, it would be a good candidate to have the container construct and inject anywhere it's needed. This doesn't look to be the case.

2) As for your writer...you'd construct a writer bean (that is wrapped around system.out) and inject that into bean B.

3) Logger (and logging in general) is not something that you have to manage with spring.