X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pro&Con of the three spring configurations

I have been working with spring framework for many many years. However I have been used exclusively xml based configurations (i.e. spring-webapp.xml..etc). I have found the xml base configuration simple and easier to understand.

1. Traditional XML based metadata
    2. Annotation-based configuration
    3. Java-Based configuration

I always see the spring 2.5 annotation-based configuration as a nice add-on feature for supplementing the core xml based configuration and never take it seriously. With the introduction of spring 3.0 java-based configuration, I have a couple of questions regarding to these approaches.

1. Am I correct that both annotation-based and java-based are designed to be supplement for the core xml based configuration, but not as an replacement?

2. If the first question is "yes", then the common practice would be a hybrid of these three methods, am I correct?

3. What's the PRO(s) and CON(s) of the annotation-based and java based configurations?

4. Any scenario(s)/situation(s) that annotation-based or java based would be better options than the old xml-based configuration?

Thanks.

Annotations vs XML

Hello,

I've worked on projects using both XML configured beans and annotation driven beans. I find annotation configured applications to be much faster to develop. I found myself combing through a lot of XML during development. @Autowired is just so easy to add if you need a service or dao injected into your bean. Also I find it nice to control transactions with the @Transactional annotations. Also I believe that @Repository beans will automatically wrap exceptions thrown into Spring based exceptions. Just another neat feature of annotations that you would probably have to account for yourself.

Thanks

Comment

Hello