Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ApplicationContext: initializing with a list of files

Hello out there!

I've asked this before on the SourceForge list, but it seems to be pretty much dead. I'm completely new to Spring so I may be getting at this from an entirely wrong angle. Here's my app scenario. I'm keeping several XML files in WEB-INF/data. At startup, those files should each be digested into object hierarchies and registered with a manager objects.

I see more or less how I could define, in applicationContext.xml, a bean for each of the hierarchies that gets initialized through a factory method. Then I could set a property of the manager bean with the list of the hierarchy beans.

What I don't like about this, is that I'd have to explicitly, repetitively, and errorpronely define all the beans. I'd rather like to
    have a declarative way to achieve my goal. Inspired by Ant it could
    something like this

Code:
    <bean id='manager'
     class='....myapp.Manager'>
      <call-method name='register'>
        <mapper name='digest' class='....myapp.MyDigester'/>
        <fileset dir='.../WEB-INF/data'>
          <include name='*.xml'/>
        </fileset>
      </call-method>
    </bean>

This is supposed to mean that
    • * register is a method taking a single argument
      * the arguments for repetitive calls are taken from a fileset
      * before the argument objects are passed to register, they are transmogrified into appropriate object hierarchies by a call to the (static) method digest.

Of course, this is all very ad hoc and probably doesn't generalize well. I'm grateful for any suggestion.

Michael

Hmmmm. I like it. But, I'm an Ant fanatic.

I would add the ability to reference bean settings. That is, singletonness, lazy-load and all that are named attribute sets. Also, I would add that in the config file, the list of POJOs to beanify are also in a ref.