Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BeanFactory not initialized or already closed

Hi,

I'm just getting started with Spring (newbie). I am trying to get a reference to a bean factory from within a servlet so that I can load a Spring bean, but am getting the following exception when I execute that line of code.

[INFO] ContextLoader - -Root WebApplicationContext: initialization completed in 279 ms
    StandardWrapperValve[TestServlet]: PWC1406: Servlet.service() for servlet TestServlet threw exception
    java.lang.IllegalStateException: BeanFactory not initialized or already closed - call 'refresh' before accessing beans via the ApplicationContext
    I've been trying to figure this out for hours and am at wits end. I'll describe my project:

- Maven 2
    - Spring 2.5.5
    - Web application deployed on GlassFish V2
    - web.xml has two listeners configured: org.springframework.web.context.ContextLoaderListe ner and org.springframework.web.context.request.RequestCon textListener
    - JSF 1.2 + Facelets
    - JPA (toplink essentials) and JTA
    - Class interface that describes a DAO
    - Implementation class of DAO interface that uses Transactional and PersistenceContext annotations (didn't put "at" sign because forum software thinks it is a URL and won't let me post). Not using Spring templates.
    - A single JPA entity using annotations
    - Servlet that tries tries to get a reference to the BeanFactory so it can ask for an instance of the DAO and use it.

Here is the bit of code from my servlet:

Code:
    WebApplicationContext beanFactory = WebApplicationContextUtils.getWebApplicationContext(getServletContext());  
    SettingsDAO dao = (SettingsDAO) beanFactory.getBean("SettingsDAO");
    out.print(dao.getProperty("systemLogLevel"));
    /WEB-INF/applicationContext.xml follows below:

Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <beans xmlns=..truncated because forum won't let me post urls...>