Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dynamically injecting a bean

Hello guys,

I am new to Spring and I need some help/ideas about how should I address an object injection problem I have. To me it looks like very basic stuff and I cannot imagine there is not a GOOD & SIMPLE solution to this and for someone with a better than mine Spring experience should be a simple answer.

What is the problem in general:
    You have an abstract class and a given number of concrete extensions. The abstract class has a field which is shared by all concrete implementations. This field is injected at a run time when you run one concrete class or another. Depending on which concrete class I am running I need the shared property to be an instance of a different thing. How can this be easily be achieved?

The concrete problem:
    We have a number of test classes derived from org.springframework.test.AbstractTransactionalData SourceSpringContextTests
    The AbstractTransactionalDataSourceSpringContextTests has a field called transactionManager.
    Each concrete test works with a different database and has its own session factory and transaction manager. At run time a different transactionManager is needed depending on which concrete test I am running.

The XML look something like this.
    <bean id="myFirstTransactionManager"
    class="org.springframework.orm.hibernate3.Hibernat eTransactionManager">
    <property name="sessionFactory" ref="sessionFactory1" />
    </bean>

<bean id="mySecondTransactionManager"
    <property name="sessionFactory" ref="sessionFactory2" />
    </bean>

<bean id="myThirdTransactionManager"
    <property name="sessionFactory" ref="sessionFactory3" />
    </bean>

The question is what is an easy way to load one of the above transactions managers into the transactionManager property.

Thank you in advance for your support.