X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Concurrency throttling by default?

Hello, I have an issue that I can't seem to put a finger on. I am relatively new to Spring and am not using much more than the standard bean definitions for DI into my beans. During testing I ran into a concurrency issue with my applicaiton (a simple web application) running in Tomcat 6.0.10.

The servlet for the web app fetches the bean (MyWebBean) from WebApplicationContext loaded like this:
    (in init() method)

Code:
            WebApplicationContext ctx =
                    WebApplicationContextUtils.getWebApplicationContext(
                            config.getServletContext());
            if (ctx == null)
            {
                throw new RuntimeException("spring.config.broke");
            }
            this.myService =
                    (MyService) ctx.getBean("MyService");
    Then the service is simply used from the servlet like this:

Code:
    protected void doGet(HttpServletRequest req, HttpServletResponse resp) throws ServletException, IOException
        {
                System.out.println("I'm about to call getFoo() at: " + new Date(System.currentTimeInMillis()));
                myReturnValue = myService.getFoo(inputParameter);
        }
    The first thing myService.getFoo() does is print out to the screen as well:

Code:
    public Object getFoo(InputParameter param)
    {
        System.out.println("Start getFoo() at: " + new Date(System.currentTimeInMillis()));
    }
    If I run this web app from 6 separate web browser windows concurrently, 5 of the 6 work just fine...the 6th will wait until one of the other 5 is complete before sending the request to myService.getFoo() (ie. it prints 'I'm about to call getFoo()" but doesn't print "Start getFoo()" until one of the previous 5 is complete).