Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
How to set propertyConfigurer location from system environment? Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to set propertyConfigurer location from system environment?

I'm a newbie, so please bear with me. I have a myApp.properties file that is in the ${catalina.home}/conf directory.

In my applicationContext.xml:
    <bean id="propertyConfigurer" class="org.springframework.beans.factory.config.Pr opertyPlaceholderConfigurer">
    <property name="location" value="file:${catalina.home}/conf/myApp.properties"/>
    </bean>

This appears to build and deploy fine. However, when I try to run a JUnit test, it cannot find the file.

JUnit test in setup:
    ApplicationContext ac = new FileSystemXmlApplicationContext("web/WEB-INF/applicationContext.xml");

However, if I change the location to a hard-coded path it works:
    value="file:c:\netbeans...\conf\myApp.properties". I really don't want to hard-code the location because we would have to change the applicationContext.xml when we install in a production environment. I really want the path to be relative to where Tomcat is running. When we install, we will just move the myApp.properties to the appropriate place.

I also tried setting a System Environment property: CATALINA_HOME=c:\...
    Then in the style of ant, value="file:${env.CATALINA_HOME}\conf\myApp.proper ties". That obviously did not work.

Is there a simple solution to this? The entries in the forums seem way more complicated than what I'm trying to do.
    Thanks.

Is there a simple solution to this? The entries in the forums seem way more complicated than what I'm trying to do.
    You could read a file called "build.properties" that contains a catalina.home key/value. Then add build.properties to your .cvsignore file and tell others that they must have this local configuration file in order to run the junit test.