Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
XmlBeanFactory - cannot read FileInputStream and can validate InputStreamResource Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• XmlBeanFactory - cannot read FileInputStream and can validate InputStreamResource

Hi,

I'm just starting out with Spring and have begun working through the first example in Spring In Action but can't get it to work. I tried the example as stated loading a FileInputStream directly into the XmlBeanFactory constructor and got the following but the code won't compile:

BeanFactory factory = new XmlBeanFactory(new FileInputStream("hello.xml"));

COMPILE ERROR: 'The constructor XmlBeanFactory(FileInputStream) is undefined'

I did some digging and discovered that an alternative would be to use an InputStreamResource. This compiled but failed during execution:

BeanFactory factory = new XmlBeanFactory(new InputStreamResource(new FileInputStream("hello.xml")));

RUNTIME ERROR: xception in thread "main" org.springframework.beans.factory.BeanDefinitionSt oreException: Passed-in Resource [resource loaded through InputStream] contains an open stream: cannot determine validation mode automatically. Either pass in a Resource that is able to create fresh streams, or explicitly specify the validationMode on your XmlBeanDefinitionReader instance.
    at org.springframework.beans.factory.xml.XmlBeanDefin itionReader.detectValidationMode(XmlBeanDefinition Reader.java:449)
    at org.springframework.beans.factory.xml.XmlBeanDefin itionReader.getValidationModeForResource(XmlBeanDe finitionReader.java:438)
    at org.springframework.beans.factory.xml.XmlBeanDefin itionReader.doLoadBeanDefinitions(XmlBeanDefinitio nReader.java:404)
    at org.springframework.beans.factory.xml.XmlBeanDefin itionReader.loadBeanDefinitions(XmlBeanDefinitionR eader.java:357)