X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring in large app environment

Hello there! I've been using Spring for small-mid size applications for over 2 years now. They all work great thanks!!! I know spring is robust enough for large projects, and cost me a great fight against other architects/developers to convince them so. We have a new project with over 5 million users and we expect over 2 million hits/day.
    So I'm bit concerned with spring now. We use SLSB for projects that size, trusting the conteiner's pool capabilities to handle so many requests.
    I know its possible to create pool around business objects in spring, but one thing that I did not understand is that on the reference it says it shouldn't be done.
    Ok, even my business objects are thread safe, let's suppose I wrap them in a transactional proxy factory bean. Do method calls become synchronized? I mean, hundreds of simultaneos request may lead to a problem with my consistency right?

I know that my business object must be a prototype to use pools, but what if I'm using transactions? Do I wrap my transactional bean?

Spring is great, today in our company if it's j2ee it must use spring, but I'd like to see a few articles, comments of spring in real large projects (clusters) and so on... Its the kinda of thing that one cant find in the documentation (and I don't believe it should be there either)

So, any comments, best practices, articles, links would be very nice

Check out the SpringONE website. It has some nice presentations about real life big (mission critical) projects which use spring. You will need to register to download the presenationsheets.

You might find these interesting:
    - Mission-Critical Lightweight JEE Technology (Day 1)
    - espacenet, a Spring-enabled search for patents (Day 1)
    - The Use of Spring in the Banking Sector (Day 2)