Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IoC Good practice

Hi,

Can any experienced IoC/Spring developers give advice on when it would be ok to get the application context to get beans? I keep hearing it's ok if you're using it to 'glue' code together, what exactly do people mean by that? Everywhere I hear do not tie code down to Spring so does that mean in a well developed Spring application, there is absolutely no need for glue code?

Here's the situation I'm pondering upon... I have a class which is supposed to decide upon what type of report (bean) to instantiate(get) based on the results of processed data. How would I do this without using getBean()? Pass every single type of report (spring) bean into an object array of the class via Spring and then let the class decide which one to use via code ?

Would much appreciate some advice here as I'm just starting out on this IoC/Spring path; enjoying it but really would like to really nail down some basics..

With regard to letting your classes "know" about Spring, that is really your call, but generally there is very little need for your classes to delve into Spring. The more you can let Spring do the wiring up for you the better

With regard to the class which needs a list of reports, it depends on *who* knows which report you need, does each report know whether it is suitable not. Either way, some kind of strategy is in order I think:

Code:
      interface ReportSelector {
        Report getReport(some.context...);
      }
    This reportSelector would then be wired up with all the reports and then injected into your class via spring:

Code:
    <bean class="yourClass" class="....">
      <constructor-arg>
        <bean class="your.ReportSelectorImpl">
          <property name="loggedInReport">
            <bean class="your.FirstReport"/>
          </property>
          <property name="loggedOutReport">
            <bean class="your.SecondReport"/>
          </property>