X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• singleton - To be or not to be ?

I am new to Spring. I have gone through reference materials and sample applications and it says default behavior for bean is singleton. In real world java applications I have seen only a handful of singleton classes. Then why Spring applications promote Singleton. The documentation says if the bean is non-singleton, framework will not handle life cycle. In a typical application say struts base web application which (action class, java beans containing business logic, utility classes (say math)), which are candidate for singletons? I am very impresses with Spring so far, but equally confuse with the term Singleton
    Thanks in advance

www.virtusa.com

This thread might shed some light then: http://forum.springframework.org/showthread.php?t=25763

Comment

Originally posted by Costin Leau
      This thread might shed some light then: http://forum.springframework.org/showthread.php?t=25763
      Thanks for the reply.. I already went through that thread.. Still I am bit confusing. The spring documentation says;

Beans are deployed in singleton mode by default, unless you specify otherwise. Keep in mind that by changing the type to non-singleton (prototype), each request for a bean will result in a newly created bean and this might not be what you actually want. So only change the mode to prototype when absolutely necessary.
      This shows spring favors singleton a lot. My question is while, in real world java applications, singletons are rear, why Spring promoting singletons? :o Is it because most of the beans that containing business logic (of course state) are not going to be handled directly by spring, rather spring framework to be used in singleton favoring contexts like database connection, integration with E mail, etc ?

Comment