Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Setting properties in subclass of abstract class through XML version 3.1.1.RELEASE Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Setting properties in subclass of abstract class through XML version 3.1.1.RELEASE

I'm relatively new to Spring, but have read documentation, and looked for examples, and may be hitting a bug (or I might just be confused).

I've got the following entries in my "services.xml" file:

Code:
    <bean id="workBean" class="com.myCompany.WorkBean">
    		<property name="workSteps">
    			<list>
    				<ref bean="firstStep" />
    				<ref bean="secondStep" />
    				<ref bean="thirdStep" />
    			</list>
    		</property>
                    <property>
                    </property>
    </bean>

<bean id="abstractStep" abstract="true" class="com.myCompany.AbstractWorkStep">
    		<property name="name" value="Abstract Step - This should not happen!"/>
    		<property>
    		<property>
    </bean>

<bean id="firstStep" parent="abstractStep" class="com.myCompany.WorkStepOne">
    		<property name="name" value="Step 1"/>
    </bean>

<bean id="secondStep" parent="abstractStep" class="com.myCompany.WorkStepTwo">
    		<property name="name" value="Step 2"/>
    </bean>

<bean id="thirdStep" parent="abstractStep" class="com.myCompany.WorkStepThree">
    		<property name="name" value="Step 3"/>
    </bean>
    Given that this is a command-line launched application (a migration "tool"), the main() function looks as follows:

Code:
    public static void main(String[] args)
    {

GenericXmlApplicationContext ctx = new GenericXmlApplicationContext();
       context.load("classpath:/services.xml");
       context.refresh();

WorkBean worker = ctx.getBean("workBean", com.myCompany.WorkBean.class);

}
    My worker class contains an ArrayList<AbstractWorkStep> steps list, with the appropriate getters and setters.