Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Performance issue while instantiating prototype beans

Hi,

Sorry, I am new to spring and new to this forum. Feel free to criticize anything.

I am using spring 3.0.5.

My overall issue is that I need to instantiate numerous (Let's say dozens or hundreds of thousands) prototype beans from several singleton beans. I don't know the instantiation count at application startup. The application need to be very fast (But should rely on spring).

In the following code, the singleton bean "Foo" need to create "count" of "MyBean" when its "perform" method is called.
    Three different ways are used to create the "MyBean" instances.
    1/ Using beanFactory.getBean(String). "FooImpl" implements BeanFactoryAware so it can use it to retrieve an instance by name.
    2/ Using beanFactory.getBean(Class). Instead of using the bean name, the class is used.
    3/ Using myBeanFactory.getObject(). An ObjectFactory<MyBean> is injected using @Autowired. So it is used to create instances.

Code:
    @Configuration
    public class MyConfiguration
    {
    	@Bean
    	public Foo foo()
    	{
    		return new FooImpl();
    	}

@Bean
    	@Scope("prototype")
    	public MyBean myBean()
    	{
    		return new MyBeanImpl();
    	}
    }

public class FooImpl implements Foo, BeanFactoryAware
    {
    	@Autowired
    	private ObjectFactory<MyBean> myBeanFactory;

private BeanFactory beanFactory;

public void perform(int count)
    	{
    		SimpleChrono chrono1 = new SimpleChrono("BeanFactory, by name");
    		for (int i = 0; i < count; i++)
    		{
    			MyBean myBean = (MyBean)beanFactory.getBean("myBean");
    		}
    		chrono1.stop();

SimpleChrono chrono2 = new SimpleChrono("BeanFactory, by class");
    		{
    			MyBean myBean = (MyBean)beanFactory.getBean(MyBean.class);
    		}
    		chrono2.stop();

SimpleChrono chrono3 = new SimpleChrono("ObjectFactory");
    		{