X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is autowiring a hit?

I have a feeling that troubleshooting may be difficult with autowiring, if you don't follow all the mapping in your mind. Isn't manual wiring a lot more readable, both for later reading as well as for others?

Also, don't the "@Autowired + @Qualifier" combination increase coupling between beans? And wouldn't we be littering the entire code base with these 'tigher couplings' instead of at a single location, in the case of xml based wiring. I know this givens extra flexibility but would like other's opinion on whether this will ultimately become a pattern or an anti-pattern.

I only do @Autowired myself. But that doesn't mean that what you say doesn't have truth to it, at different levels.

First about autowiring xml or annotations, yes there is a lot less documentation of what gets wired where that requires you to know about your architecture and more details. But as a developer, I would say you should know that anyway, regardless of which configuration approaches you take. But for new developers, they probably would take more time to figure things out.