Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how to start with spring batch

Hi all,

I'm an old fashioned host programmer with more than 35 years experience in writing host batches, with cobol, assembler, pl1, JCL.
    My java batches were all simple main classes in a host-like procedural manner. Though they are running fine, I would like to migrate to the modern spring batch world.
    But unfortunately I'm not even understanding the 'hello world' example (after 4 weeks).

What I need would be an example that reads in a flat file item by item with an Item reader,
    processes each Item with an Item Processor and writes out the processed Item on a flat file with an ItemWriter.
    In addition I need to know how to start such a job ( a detail that I did not find in any helloWorld example, just unit tests for readers and writers)

greatings from a very frustrated developer

peter Strotmann
    Dortmund, Germany

@Peter,

There are a lot of samples that come with spring batch project ( sources ), but I agree there is nothing extremely simple that you can easily jump on and start working with if you have no previous experience.

The best way that I found lately, that works when I need to quickly get new developers up to speed, is to install a Spring Tool Suite, create a Spring Template Project and choose Spring Batch Template. It'll create a very simplistic Spring Batch project with all the dependencies, example ItemReader, example ItemWriter, and runnable tests. Here is step-by-step on how to get to this project: http://www.dotkam.com/2010/04/06/spr...h-quick-start/

Once you are up and running, you ( given a use case that you described ) would have to swap item reader and writer for FlatFileItemReader and FlatFileItemWriter. Please refer to this very detailed documentation on flat file processing: http://static.springsource.org/sprin...html#flatFiles.

Here is how to run a job: http://static.springsource.org/sprin...ml#runningAJob