X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Programatically build job beans?

I'm new to spring and spring-batch and require a method of programtically creating job/step/tasklet beans. I'm currently defining a number of jobs in the xml that are mostly the same but with one property changing per job and would like to cut this out by dynamically building the jobs at runtime.

Thanks for any help in advance.

All the APIs are pretty open, but I never came across a real life use case that needed much more than a tweak in the XML, and maybe a simple custom component. If you can describe the use case in more detail we might be able to suggest something more concrete.

Comment

Well the purpose of the batch is to parse xml from a REST service, do a bit of processing to add in some additional data and then write to a database.

The REST service takes two parameters (A,B) I want the user to be able to specify the value(s) of A as args/properties (the four B values are constant).

My current structure is a job for each A, which contains a step for each B. But by explicity writing these in the xml I'm not only assuming the number of A's, but I'm also writing a lot of near identical xml (the UrlResource and therefore the ItemReader changes for each combination of A and B, the ItemProcessor doesn't change, and the ItemWriter changes for each B, but is oblivious to changes in A).

Hence why I thought creating the jobs dynamically based on the the As provided might be a nicer solution.

Apologies if this is a poor explanation, but I would really appreciate any advice.

Comment

If you can solve the problem with a finite number of XML files, I'm sure we can get that finite number down to 1. You should be able to just bind a portion of the URL, e.g.

Code:
        <property name="resource" value="http://servicehost/foo/bar/#{jobParameters['A']}/#{jobParameters['B']}"/>
        Did I misunderstand the requirement?

Comment