X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Running Jobs and JobParameters Uniqueness

I'm new to Spring Batch, so forgive any incorrect assumptions I may have.

Just wondering, what was the thinking behind preventing users from running the same job more than once with the same set of parameters (which would throw a JobInstanceAlreadyCompleteException)? Was the goal to prevent, say, a nightly job from accidentally executing twice? Or if jobs were kicked off in async threads, to prevent overlapping jobs?

I'm designing a system that syncs one database to a different target database. This sync could be incremental, it could a full sync, or specific records, all based on a trigger file. It is possible this system might be running on 2+ servers in case we needed to run tasks in parallel.

I envisioned a single sync job which would be instantiated based on the sync-type parameters. At first I was thinking of using startNextInstance and using an incrementer to ensure job parameter uniqueness. For example, if you started a job on one machine, and then started the same job on another, you would be guaranteed a different run.id. But then I realized you can't pass in other parameters when you use startNextInstance(), which I believe is the only operation that uses the incrementer.

But in order to use start() which allows parameters, but doesn't use the incrementer, I have to pass in something like a timestamp in order to ensure job parameter uniqueness, which seems like a bit of a hack.

I don't really like the idea of having to define a separate job for each possible parameters combination. Also, the idea of restarting those executions over and over again and never getting an exit status of COMPLETED is kind of bothersome.