Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• selection dependent multi file reader

Hi,
    I'm new to Spring Batch and haven't been able to figure out how to handle this situation.
    A database SELECT returns a list of those of our merchants that have updated their catalog files.
    For each merchant id there is a similarly named directory that contains one or more flat CSV files that need to be processed.
    At first sight this seems to require to have one job that reads the selected merchant ids then for each one of them spawn a new job to handle the files using something like a MultiResourceItemReader. Is this a valid way to handle the problem?
    I haven't yet figured out how to correctly spawn a secondary job but maybe there is a simpler way to do this?

Any advice is welcomed
    Gualo

You could put your merchant SELECT in a StepExecutionSplitter. There's a sample that is close (partitionFileJob).

Comment

Thanks for your help.
      From the documentation and sample code I understood that StepExecutionSplitter is used to partition a data set into chunks to execute them remotely or in parallel mainly for optimization purposes.
      In my case I have two distinct data sets, one with the list of merchants, and a second one, derived from it, a list of catalog file names to process for each merchant.
      Unless I'm missing something obvious I don't see how I could use the splitter logic.

Thanks again

Comment

Seems like your merchant id would be an input to the step that processed the related catalogs. Did I miss something?

Comment

That's exactly it.
          First I determine which merchant catalogs need to be processed, then each selected merchant id should be repeatedly passed to the second step to process the catalog files themselves. For the second step I can use a MultiResourceItemReader [derived tasklet] using a wildcard file specification based on the merchant's id.