Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
There has got to be a faster way of loading dynamic CSV headers... Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• There has got to be a faster way of loading dynamic CSV headers...

I'm writing an importer for very bog standard CSVs where the exact order the attributes come in is user defined in the header (where attribute names are comma separated). Now, I'm new to Spring Batch (particularly 2.0) but, I thought this would be a relatively simple thing to arrange. I've now got it to work (I think), but since I had to go about it in such a arse backwards way I thought I would post my findings here for three reasons,

1) Someone might be able to explain a way of doing it better and faster.
    2) Someone might be able to spot some important step I missed (I'm still not sure my job will recover from interruption correctly).
    3) This might be a useful record for anyone else trying to solve the same (very common I would have thought) problem.

Let's start with the FlatFileItemReader, mainly because that was where I started and originally thought I would very quickly finish up.

Code:
    	<bean id="productFileItemReader" 
    	class="org.springframework.batch.item.file.FlatFileItemReader">
    		<property name="resource" value="classpath:dataload/products.csv" />
    		<property name="lineMapper" ref="lineMapper" />
    		<property name="linesToSkip" value="1" />
    		<property name="skippedLinesCallback" ref="csvHeaderCallbackHandler" />
    	</bean>